Incorrect data? Please notify us at email@example.com.
The Ca 'd'Oro, one of the finest late Gothic palaces of Venice, home to over two floors the important art collection of Baron Giorgio Franchetti (1865-1927), who in 1916 donated it to the Italian State of its collections and the' same building, after having restored, with large restorations, the original splendor. The collection of the nobleman, including furniture, paintings, medals, tapestries, bronzes and sculptures, was expanded over the years with the annexation of Renaissance works from suppressed religious buildings or demolished and nuclei collectable from the Accademia Gallery and the Museum Archaeological, while a new exhibition section devoted to the Venetian ceramics has found a place, since 1992, in the adjacent Palazzo Duodo. Is not limited only to the gallery, open to the public in 1927, the visit of the building, which still has, as a whole, the structure of the ancient Venetian house warehouse. Of particular interest is the inner courtyard, with its charming mosaic floor in the ancient marbles, made by Baron himself who evocation of the early Christian basilicas, and true to the original pit carved by Bartolomeo Bon in 1427. Atrium - a perfect building enclosure and its fate - rest, under a porphyry memorial, the ashes of Giorgio Franchetti.