Street Mode Festival; Thessaloniki's feinste

2 Minuten Lesedauer

Dieser Artikel wird mit Hilfe eines Algorithmus übersetzt.

Dieser Text wurde ins Deutsch übersetzt aus der Originalsprache English.

Der September steht vor der Tür und ich konnte nicht umhin, an mein schönes Thessaloniki zu denken. Der September ist zweifellos ein schwieriger Monat. Einige sagen, dass der September für das Jahr das ist, was Montag für die Woche ist; zu anstrengend, bis es vorbei ist. Schließlich ist "Wake me up when September ends" von Green Day immer noch ein Hit. Die Studenten eilen zurück in die Stadt, um das neue Studienjahr zu beginnen. Alle sind aus dem Urlaub zurück und der Herbst beginnt offiziell! Die Hundetage sind vorbei! Zurück zur Realität, richtig? Nun, wenn man in Thessaloniki lebt, kann man leicht in das wirkliche Leben zurückkehren. Die Stadt ist voll von Festivals, wobei das größte und wichtigste das Street Mode Festival in Thessaloniki ist.

Street Mode Festival
Street Mode Festival
26IS OKTOVRIOU 15, 54627 Thessaloníki

Zeit, sich in den "Straßenmodus" zu schalten.

Street Mode ist ein jährliches Musik-, Kunst- und Sportfestival, das seit 2009 in Thessaloniki stattfindet. Es ist das größte Festival in Nordgriechenland und erreicht mehr als 40.000 Besucher in einem mehrtägigen Programm mit Auftritten auf 5 Bühnen, Musikwettbewerben und Straßenaktivitäten. In diesem Jahr feiert das Street Mode Festival sein 10-jähriges Bestehen und findet über 4 Tage statt, von Donnerstag, den 30. August bis Sonntag, den 2. September.

Street Mode Festival

Wie gesagt, da Sie wieder in Thessaloniki sind, ist es an der Zeit, dass Sie sich in den "Street"-Modus schalten und Live-Musik, DJ-Sets, Shows und Wettbewerbe von Graffiti, Street Art, Street Dance, Parkour, Skateboarding, Longboarding und vieles mehr genießen! Das Festival bietet Ausstellungen, Workshops, Spiele, Kinderaktivitäten und andere Nebenveranstaltungen.

Mit seinen Wurzeln in den Straßen begann Street Mode zunächst als eine Veranstaltungsreihe, die in einem offenen - öffentlichen Raum stattfand, mit dem Ziel, alle Elemente der Straßenkultur gemeinsam zu präsentieren.

Aber was ist die Straßenkultur und wie wird sie im Festival dargestellt?

Wenn man von Straßenkultur spricht, kommen einem Dinge wie Urbanisierung und Stadtkultur in den Sinn. Allerdings ist die Definition der Straßenkultur eigentlich etwas sehr Vages. Sie kann in mehrere Subkulturen unterteilt werden, da jeder seine eigene Art hat, die Elemente der Straßenkultur zu verstehen und darzustellen. Einige ziehen es vor, es durch Kunst und Musik auszudrücken, andere durch Innovationen. Aber eines lässt sich nicht bestreiten: Die Straßenkultur entsteht aus Originalität, Kreativität und Vielfalt!

Die Organisatoren des Festivals definieren die Straßenkultur als eine Subkultur, die vor allem in den städtischen Gebieten von Thessaloniki entwickelt wurde und sich frei durch Kunst, wie Graffiti und Breakdance, oder durch Skateboarding oder Parkour ausdrückt, gefolgt von den Klängen von Hip-Hop, Punkrock und Ska oder Reggae-Musik.

Das diesjährige Line-Up

Street Mode Festival

Internationale Gesetze (A-Z):

DOG EAT DOG[USA] DOPE DOD[NL] DUB INC[FRA] ELECTRIC SIX[USA] GODFATHERS[ENG] JAYA THE CAT[USA/NL] LA PEGATINA[ESP] LIONIZE[USA] MARKY RAMONES BLITZKRIEG[USA] MONKEY 3[SWI] NEW MODEL ARMY [UK] OCEAN WISDOM[ENG] PHIL CAMPELL & THE BASTARD SONS[ENG] REPETITOR[SRB] SAMSARA BLUES EXPERIMENT[GER] SKILLER[BUL] STONED JESUS[UKR] TALCO[ITA] THE GREAT MALARKEY[ENG] THE REAL McKENZIES[SCO] THERAPY? ZU VIELE T'S GÄHNENDER MANN.

Nationale Gesetze (A-Z):

63 HIGH BAD MOVIES BEGGARS BLOODY HAWK CORE THE BAND DEAF RADIO FER DE LANCE FUNDRACAR OLDSCHOOL REDNEX PANX ROMANA PUTA VOLCANO RNS SLEEPIN PILLOW SOLMEISTER THE LAST DRIVE TWINSANITY and more.

Bereit, die Stimmung auf der Straße zu spüren?


Interessante Städte im Zusammenhang mit dieser Geschichte


Der Schriftsteller

Chrisa Lepida

Chrisa Lepida

Mein Name ist Chrisa und ich komme aus Griechenland. Als Naturliebhaber, Wintersportler und Erasmus-Besessener schreibe ich immer wieder über diese Themen.

Weitere Reisegeschichte für Sie

Street Mode Festival; Thessaloniki’s finest

2 minutes to read

September is about come and I couldn’t help but thinking of my lovely Thessaloniki. September is no doubt a difficult month. Some say that September for the year is what Monday is for the week; too tiring till it’s over. After all, “Wake me up when September ends” by Green Day is still a hit. Students are rushing back to town, ready to start all over the new academic year. Everyone’s back from holiday and officially autumn begins! The dog days are over! Back to reality, right? Well, living in Thessaloniki helps you in fact transition back to real life kinda easily. The city is bustling with festivals, with the biggest and most important one being Thessaloniki’s Street Mode Festival.

Street Mode Festival
Street Mode Festival
26IS OKTOVRIOU 15, 54627 Thessaloníki

Time to turn yourself on “street mode”

Street Mode is an annual music, art, and sports festival held in Thessaloniki since 2009. It is in fact the largest festival in Northern Greece, reaching more than 40.000 visitors, in a multiple-days long program involving gigs on 5 stages, music contests, and street activities. This year, the Street Mode festival celebrates its 10th anniversary and as a matter of fact it will take place for over 4 days, starting on Thursday August 30th – till Sunday, September 2nd.

© Photo: Street Mode Festival

As I said, since you’re back to Thessaloniki, it’s about time you turn yourself on “street” mode and enjoy live music, DJ sets, shows and contests of graffiti, street art, street dance, parkour, skateboarding, longboarding and much more! The festival complies with exhibitions, workshops, games, children activities, and other side events.

With its roots in the streets, Street Mode initially began as a series of events taking place in an open – public space, aiming to present all the elements of street culture together.

But what is the street culture and how is it portrayed in the festival?

When talking about street culture, things like urbanization and urban culture come to mind. However, the definition of the street culture is actually something really vague. It can be broken down into multiple subcultures, since everyone has their own way of understanding and portraying the street culture’s elements. Some prefer expressing it through arts and music, while others through innovations. However, one thing that cannot be argued, is that the street culture derives from originality, creativity and diversity!

The festival’s organisers define street culture as a subculture developed mainly in the urban areas of Thessaloniki and is freely expressed through arts, such as graffiti and breakdance, or through skateboarding or parkour, followed and represented always by the sounds of hip-hop, punk rock and ska or reggae music.

This year’s line up

© Photo: Street Mode Festival

International Acts (A-Z):

DOG EAT DOG [USA] DOPE DOD [NL] DUB INC [FRA] ELECTRIC SIX [USA] GODFATHERS [ENG] JAYA THE CAT [USA/NL] LA PEGATINA [ESP] LIONIZE [USA] MARKY RAMONES BLITZKRIEG [USA] MONKEY 3 [SWI] NEW MODEL ARMY [UK] OCEAN WISDOM [ENG] PHIL CAMPELL & THE BASTARD SONS [ENG] REPETITOR [SRB] SAMSARA BLUES EXPERIMENT [GER] SKILLER [BUL] STONED JESUS [UKR] TALCO [ITA] THE GREAT MALARKEY [ENG] THE REAL McKENZIES [SCO] THERAPY? [NIL] TOO MANY T’S [ENG] YAWNING MAN [USA]

National Acts (A-Z):

63 HIGH BAD MOVIES BEGGARS BLOODY HAWK CORE THE BAND DEAF RADIO FER DE LANCE FUNDRACAR OLDSCHOOL REDNEX PANX ROMANA PUTA VOLCANO RNS SLEEPIN PILLOW SOLMEISTER THE LAST DRIVE TWINSANITY and more.

Ready to feel the street’s vibes?


Interesting towns related to this story


Interesting activities close by


The author

Chrisa Lepida

Chrisa Lepida

My name is Chrisa and I come from Greece. As nature lover, winter sports addict and Erasmus obsessed, I’m always writing about these topics.

View more stories

Stories you might also like