Hungary is a country in Central Europe that covers an area in the Carpathian Basin, bordered by Slovakia to the north, Ukraine to the northeast, Austria to the northwest, Romania to the east, Serbia to the south, Croatia to the southwest, and Slovenia to the west.

With about 10 million inhabitants, Hungary is a medium-sized member state of the European Union. Hungary's capital and its largest city and metropolis is Budapest, a significant economic hub, classified as a leading global city. Major urban areas include Debrecen, Szeged, Miskolc, Pécs and Győr. Hungary's geography has traditionally been defined by its two main waterways, the Danube and Tisza rivers. The common tripartite division of the country into three sections Dunántúl , Tiszántúl and Duna-Tisza köze is a reflection of this. The Danube flows north-south right through the center of contemporary Hungary, and the entire country lies within its drainage basin. Hungary has 10 national parks, 145 minor nature reserves, and 35 landscape protection areas.

Picture © Credits to istock/Noppasin Wongchum

Stories in Hungary

Regions in Hungary

Other interests in Hungary

About Cookies

We use cookies to understand how you use our site and to improve your experience. This includes personalizing content. By continuing to use our site, you accept our use of cookies, revised Privacy Policy and Terms and Conditions.